One Year In

2011_ca_dec31pandion-168widesmall

Time for some navel-gazing. In all honesty, I do a lot of it. Thankfully, I do not write a lot of it down.

I had a lot of big plans for this blog a year ago. Suddenly, a few weeks ago, I received the WordPress notification congratulating me on the first year. Had it really been that long? I guess so.

But I found time to write only nine times during the year. Most of those posts had come during the honeymoon period, where my excitement was high and I found time to write in almost any circumstance.

But life gets in the way. I determined not to start a daddy-blog (how tiresome), but fatherhood experiences overtook my day-to-day life and I rarely had more than fifteen minutes at a time to concentrate. Perhaps some people can write under those circumstances, but I cannot. As a result, many of my ideas were suspended.

I learned that reactionary writing was bad for me. There are many drafts sitting in the hopper, waiting patiently to be finished as I lost track of my points after my passion faded and I had time to think about what I was writing. Cathartic for me. Not much benefit to you.

I learned that I wrote best about the things I care about most. It is incredibly rewarding to know that my efforts are helping some of you. Really. And, if my post didn’t help, I hope I at least let you know that you are not the only one having these frustrations.

I am definitely looking forward to expanding my work in technology and have been negotiating a collaboration with an associate to start a new tech-only blog with a YouTube tie-in. As if there weren’t enough of those. But I am excited about it.

The tech blogs I have written have been far and away the most popular, in terms of viewership. But the other subjects have engendered the most discussion. It puts me in a strange position. I feel that I should isolate my technology writing, for ease of access to my readers. We’ll see how it goes

I learned that I should write when I have the ideas, and then let my writing sit for a while. Coming back to my posts after a year is eye-opening. I am capable of much better writing, and some of my posts almost made me cringe. They feel almost…sophomoric. The sentence structure, the editing, the typos. I am better than that, I can assure you. And I will be better from this point forward.

I will not be rushing my posts any more. But I will be posting more regularly.
I  want to thank all of you. For reading. For valuable input. For your patience with me. I look forward to our next year together.

Leave a Reply

